BAND Excalibur UK


LABEL No Remorse Records

OUT Sept 24th, 2021

NWOBHM band EXCALIBUR debut recording "The Bitter End" is set for re-release on 24th September by No Remorse Records.

UK band EXCALIBUR formed in Bradford, West Yorkshire in 1981 as a four piece for a school project and though only 15 years of age, were soon playing wherever they could, even in clubs and bars before they were legally allowed in such places.

EXCALIBUR were built around core members Paul McBride (Vocals), Paul Solynskyj (Guitar) and

Martin Hawthorn (Bass Guitar).

By 1986, with drummer Mick Dodson replaced by Dave Sykes, the band added Steve Blades on guitar/keyboards to the line-up.

On finishing school EXCALIBUR toured heavily and in addition recorded their first demos. It was the

‘Back Before Dawn’ tape which caught the attention of independent label Conquest Records who

subsequently signed the band, leading to their mini album debut with ‘The Bitter End’ in 1985.

Having expanded to a five piece, EXCALIBUR went on to release critically acclaimed recordings.

Their next release was the 1988 ‘Hot For Love’ EP through Clay Records, taken from a session

recorded for the iconic BBC Radio 1 Friday Rock Show and produced by Mott The Hoople drummer

Dale Griffin. UK magazine Metal Hammer lauded the release with esteemed rock critic Chris Welch

giving it a 5/5 star rating.

1990 finally saw EXCALIBUR release their first full length album, ‘One Strange Night’, through Active

Records/Music For Nations. Reaching Number 7 in the UK Rock Charts, the release was highly

praised by critics and fans, accumulating a multitude of top rated reviews across leading publications

both at home and abroad.

EXCALIBUR built up a loyal following with constant touring and shared stages with numerous bands

including Saxon, Uriah Heep and Budgie.

By 1992 amid a changing music scene, the members of EXCALIBUR decided to go their separate

ways. But not before rounding off an illuminating career with farewell shows in the UK.

British heavy rock band EXCALIBUR who emerged on the coat tails of the New Wave of British

Heavy Metal (NWOBHM) in the 1980’s, will have their 1985 debut six track mini album ‘The Bitter

End’ reissued through the No Remorse www.noremorse.gr label on 24th September 2021.

The newly remastered version will contain a selection of bonus material including the band’s 1984

‘Back Before Dawn’ demo and the previously unheard original EXCALIBUR mix of ‘The Bitter End’.

The release is a recording snapshot of the band in their teenage years between 1983 and 1985, as they

went from first demo novices lacking studio experience to a band with a firm musical vision for the

recording of ‘The Bitter End’. A vision that ultimately was not shared by their label Conquest Records

who, unknown to the band, remixed the album prior to its release.

‘The Bitter End’ was recorded in March 1985 by Paul McBride (vocals), Paul Solynskyj (guitar),

Martin Hawthorn (bass) and Mick Dodson (drums) at Woodlands Studios, UK with engineer Neil



Excalibur UK

No Remorse Records


28 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti