top of page

EUROPE - The early times..and the self-titled first album!

The first shape of the band was called FORCE and came together in 1979, in Upplands Väsby, Stockholm, and was composed by vocalist Joey Tempest, guitarist John Norum, bass player Peter Olsson and drummer Tony Reno.

The band sent many demos to several labels, but with no big success.

Two years later, Olsson left the band and was replaced by John Levén.

Just a couple of months later Levén joined Yngwie Malmsteen's Rising Force, and Malmsteen's former bassist, Marcel Jacob, joined Force. This only lasted for three months, Levén apparently had issues with Malmsteen, so he and Jacob traded places again.

In 1982 they won swedish rock contest the contest with to two songs as "In the Future to Come" and "The King Will Return".

The reward was a deal with a label as Hot Records.

Tempest won the award for Best Lead Singer, and Norum won the award for Best Guitarist.

Before the contest, Force changed their name to Europe. The self-titled debut album was released the following year.

The album charted at number 8 in the Sweden and the single "Seven Doors Hotel" became a Top 10 hit in Japan.

#europe #hardrock #tempest #norum

110 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti
bottom of page